Larissa FastHorse | The Thanksgiving Play

The Thanksgiving Play by Larissa FastHorse (Sicangu Lakota) is a satirical comedy about four mismatched artists attempting to devise an ethnically sensitive play for the local schools to celebrate both Thanksgiving and Native American Heritage Month. In order to be as respectful and accurate as possible, the three white actors defer to the only Native American in the room for guidance – a woman whose outlook on history and cultural respect is wildly different from their own. In this wickedly funny satire, this mismatched foursome must find their way through a hilarious thicket of absurd assumptions, historical perspective and school district policy as the pageant must go on!

The Thanksgiving Play received its world premiere production on April 7, 2018 on the Morrison Stage at Artists Rep.

WATCH video interview with Larissa HERE.

Larissa also received original development support for The Thanksgiving Play through the Joe Dowling Annaghmakerrig Fellowship from the Guthrie Theatre in Minneapolis.

Larissa FastHorse (Sicangu Lakota) is an award winning playwright, director and choreographer.  Larissa's produced plays include What Would Crazy Horse Do? (KCRep, Relative Theatrics), Urban Rez (Cornerstone Theater Company, ASU Gammage, NEFA National tour 2019-20), Landless and Cow Pie Bingo (AlterTheater), Average Family (Children’s Theater Company of Minneapolis), Teaching Disco Squaredancing to Our Elders: a Class Presentation (Native Voices at the Autry), Vanishing Point (Eagle Project) and Cherokee Family Reunion (Mountainside Theater).  Her new comedy, The Thanksgiving Play, will be produced at Artists Rep and Cap Stage next season.  Larissa directed the critically acclaimed play, Our Voices Will Be Heard (Perseverance Theater Company) and is developing several new projects to direct with an emphasis on cross cultural community engaged work between Indigenous nations.

Larissa won the PEN USA Literary Award for Drama, NEA Distinguished New Play Grant, Joe Dowling Annamaghkerrig Fellowship, AATE Distinguished Play Award, Inge Residency, Sundance/Ford Foundation Fellowship, Aurand Harris Fellowship, the UCLA Native American Woman of the Year and numerous Ford, Mellon and NEA Grants.   She is a proud officer of the Board of Directors for TCG and represented by Jonathan Mills, Paradigm NY